

170 K Road Werribee Vic 3030 PO Box 616 Werribee VIC 3030

- P +61 3 9013 0707
- F +61 3 9974 0577
- E reception@equestrianvictoria.com.au
- I vic.equestrian.org.au

ABN 80 362 146 367

Title:	Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Equestrian Victoria
Meeting Location:	Online via TEAMs portal
Meeting Date:	Wednesday, 9 November 2022
Meeting Time:	7.30pm

#### 1. Welcome

The meeting was opened by the Chairman, Christie Freeman at 7.30pm who welcomed the members present to Equestrian Victoria's 2021 online AGM.

Christie introduced Amy Slayter, the CEO of Equestrian Victoria who addressed the meeting.

# 2. Apologies and Quorum

Quorum was achieved with 33 persons attending the live stream. There were no apologies submitted

#### 3. Admission of Proxies

It was confirmed that as there was no motion nor election to be held that proxies were not applicable to the meeting.

# 4. Confirmation of Minutes – Equestrian Victoria Annual General Meeting 24 November 2021.

MOTION: That the minutes of the Equestrian Victoria Inc. Annual General Meeting on Thursday 24 November 2021 be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved by Tim Clarke, Seconded by Fiona McIntyre

Unanimous



170 K Road Werribee Vic 3030 PO Box 616 Werribee VIC 3030

- P +61 3 9013 0707
- F +61 3 9974 0577
- E reception@equestrianvictoria.com.au
- I vic.equestrian.org.au

ABN 80 362 146 367

## 5. Presentation of the Equestrian Victoria Annual Report

# a. Chair's Report

The Chair presented her report

# **b.** Discipline Reports

The discipline reports were included in the Annual Report with the chairs of Jumping, Dressage, Eventing and Show Horse addressing the meeting via live stream.

# 6. Presentation of the Financial Statements for the year ended 30 June 2022

Tim Clarke presented the FY22 EV Financial Statements noting that as per the Equestrian Victoria Constitution, the audited accounts were approved.

#### 7. Election of Directors

In accordance with clause 27(c)(i. of the Constitution, as the number of nominations received is equal to the number of vacancies, those nominated will be declared elected at the Annual General Meeting. It was thereby declared Christie Freeman and Lynette Lee are each elected for a term of two (2) years.

## 8. Special Resolution – For vote.

Under the Constitution, the EV Board is comprised of four elected directors, four directors who are the appointed chairs of the Eventing, Dressage, Show Horse, and Show Jumping Discipline Committees, and up to two appointed directors.

The model is effective in that it means that the Discipline Committees are represented on the Equestrian Victoria Board. However, the limitation of the current Constitution is that it leads to a heavy workload for the Discipline Committee chair having to fulfill the dual role of both Committee Chair and Board Director.

Under the proposed change, the Discipline Committees would be able to appoint any member of the relevant committee as its Board representative, thus enabling the committees to better share the workload whilst retaining their representation on the Board. This would have the benefit of broadening the pool of individuals who would take up the Committee chair or Board Representative position as the workload would not be as overwhelming.

The motion submitted is as follows:

#### MOTION:

Clause 26.3 "Composition of Board" subclause (a) (ii) of the Equestrian Victoria Constitution be



170 K Road Werribee Vic 3030 PO Box 616 Werribee VIC 3030

- +61 3 9013 0707
- +61 3 9974 0577
- reception@equestrianvictoria.com.a
  - vic.equestrian.org.au

ABN 80 362 146 367

amended to read, "subject to rule 26.5, a Director appointed by each Standing Committee who is also a member of the Standing Committee".

Motion Passed with 40 Votes approving the amendment, 3 votes to reject the amendment.

# 9. Other Business

There was no Other Business and the meeting was declared closed at 8.21pm

**END** 

## **Attendees:**

Amy Slayter, Christie Freeman, Corinne McInerney, Cindy Morrison, Tim Clarke, Janet Houghton, Fiona McIntyre, Stuart Archibald, Reg Cleland, Joanne Stubbs, Jo Prescott, Liz Richardson, Mary-Anne Lowe, Berni Saunders, Jen Mainland, Pam Buxton-Barber, Jamie Harding, Peter Findlay, Sue Leslie, Greig keily, Jan Smith, Braedyn Lennox, Brigid Willis, Paula Binnie, Julia WIlliams, Ros Agius, Christopher Mann, Lizzy Schirmer, Eliza Harvey, Ian Percy, Isabel Houghton, Lynette Lee, Jacquie Sayers