Equestrian Victoria Young Ambassador of the Year


In light of the Victorian Government announcement that metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire will return to Stage 3 Stay at Home restrictions from 11:59pm Wednesday 8th July 2020 until 11:59pm on Wednesday 19 August 2020, the decision has been made to postpone the Young Ambassador Top 10 Finalist’s weekend to a later date.

Over the next six weeks we will continue to investigate rescheduling the weekend to a later date, taking into account factors including government restrictions, venue availability and the discipline competition calendars. 

Equestrian Victoria is very passionate about seeing the weekend run, however, we have a responsibility to operate in the best interest of our members safety and community wellbeing.


The Young Ambassador of the Year weekend is one which all our Junior and Young Rider members look towards on their Equestrian Calendar. The award is aimed at recognising athletes aged between 16 – 21 (14 – 21 Show Horse) who demonstrates outstanding sportsmanship, performance, contribution to sport and leadership qualities in their chosen discipline. 

It highlights the importance of being more than just a winner, with the shortlisted Top 10 finalists attending a specialised training weekend catering to the professional and personal development of the riders. 

The Top 10 Finalist Weekend is a showcase for all four disciplines (Dressage, Eventing, Jumping and Show Horse), attended by the 10 finalists to determine the Top 3 shortlisted nominees. The Top 3 nominees will then be invited to attend an online interview with the selectors which will determine the 2020 Discipline Young Ambassador for 2020.  


Congratulations to our Top 10 Finalists, listed below in alphabetical order.

Jumping Top 10 Finalists 

  • Bella Farmer
  • Clancy Grant
  • Hannah Wigg
  • Hamish Prime
  • Jessica Grant
  • Liesel Wright-Smith
  • Maddison Buckner
  • Mia McNaught
  • Nina Griffiths
  • Tahlia Spagnardi

Eventing Top 10 Finalists 

  • Bessie Dimery
  • Edward Darby
  • Eliza Harvey
  • Georgia Tivendale
  • Georgiana House
  • Lucy Petersen
  • Mia Wright
  • Ruby Crofts
  • Sarah Boatwood
  • Sophie Bennett 

Show Horse Top 10 Finalists

  • Charlotte Oberin
  • Ella O’Doherty
  • Hannah Bufton
  • Hayley Gears
  • Jessica Dertell
  • Jessica Payne
  • Kaitlin Labahn-Meyland
  • Shae Latimer
  • Sophie Belcher
  • Stephanie Horton

Dressage Top 10 Finalists 

  • Brooke Mance
  • Charlee Martin
  • Eliza Bell
  • Emily Yeoman
  • Isabelle Luxmoore
  • Jemma Geysen
  • Jorjia Beard Adams
  • Lindsey Ware
  • Natasha Moody
  • Sophie Taylor




Read all about the Young Ambassador selection procedure - download the document below:

EV Young Ambassador Procedure FINAL May 2020.pdf 

For further information about the 2020 Young Ambassador Award and selection conditions please contact, Emily or Deena via email at: [email protected] or [email protected]